Upcoming events

Follow Us

Log in


A Strong United Voice for Fire Prevention

Log in

NASFM Awards

Olin Greene – Excellence in Fire Prevention

2008 - Olin Greene, U.S. Fire Administrator, and State Fire Marshal

2009 – John Reich – South Carolina State Fire Marshal

2010 – NASFM Model Codes Committee

2011 - Robert Howe, Dept. of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety – Vermont

2012 – John F. “Sonny” Scarff III – Marriott International

2013 – Buddy Dewar – National Fire Sprinkler Association

2014 - VJ Bella – LA State Fire Marshal

2015 – Kelly Nicolello – AK State Fire Marshal

2017 – Gary L. West, TN State Fire Marshal

2018 –J. William Degnan

2019 –Jim Tidwell

2020 - No Conference

2021 - Tonya Hoover-Acting US Fire Administrator

2022 - Mr. Jim Narva, NASFM

2023 - Brian Geraci, Maryland State Fire Marshal

Norman Y. Mineta-Excellence in Transportation Safety

2005 - Norman Y. Mineta, 14th U.S. Secretary of Transportation

2008 – Stacey Gerard

2009 – Tom Barrett Vice Admiral Deputy Secretary US DOT

2010 – Mike Callan

2012 – Greg Smith, Shell Pipeline (Co-recipients)

2012 – Stephen Coan – MA State Fire Marshal (Co-recipients)

2013 – Casey Grant – National Fire Protection Association

2014 – Common Ground Alliance

2015 – American Petroleum Institute Association of Oil Pipeline

2016 – Bill Degnan – NH State Fire Marshal

2020 - No Annual Conference

2023 - ExxonMobil Pipeline Company

Presidents Hall of Fame

2009 – James Burns New York State Fire Administrator

2010 – John Dean – ME State Fire Marshal

2011 – Alan Shuman, GA State Fire Marshal

2012 – Jerry Rosendahl – MN State Fire Marshal

2013 – Ray Reynolds – IA State Fire Marshal

2014 – Chris Connealy – TX State Fire Marshal

2015 – Bill Degnan – NH State Fire Marshal

2016 – Edward Paulk-AL State Fire Marshal

2017—Dwayne Garriss-GA State Fire Marshal

2018 –Butch Browning and LA SFMO

2019 - Paul Martin-Deputy Administrator-NY Office of Fire Prevention and Control

2020- No Annual Conference

2021 - Peter Ostroskey-MA State Fire Marshal

2022 - Joe Thomas, Maine State Fire Marshal

2023 - Kevin Sehlmeyer, Michigan State Fire Marshal

NASFM Awards Of Excellence


NASFM also recognized four valued members with the “Award of Excellence”.

Chief Phil Oakes oversees the Operations and Training for NASFM. He has nearly 30 years of fire service contributions. His leadership and vision in our Pipeline Safety Training program has transformed the industry as it relates to preparing first responders for such emergency responses.  

Chief Kevin Reardon who serves as the State Fire Marshal of Ohio received an “Award of Excellence” as he led NASFM’s efforts in coordination with other national organizations to ensure Congressional authorization for both the FEMA Assistance to Firefighters grant program as well as the needed funding allocation for the operation of the US Fire Administration. This year he testified before a Congressional Committee as the voice of state fire marshals.

Chief Mike Morgan, the state fire marshal of Colorado and Chief Mariana Ruiz-Temple the state fire marshal in Oregon both received an “Award of Excellence” for their work in wildland interface fire prevention and mitigation. Both have been a strong voice for the enhanced public safety role in this national problem. They serve on the newly created Biden-Harris Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission.

About the Olin Greene Award

Olin L. Greene, 85, passed away in Tallahassee on February 22, 2022 after a brief illness.

Olin was a star athlete at Miami Edison High School (Class of 1956), after which he attended Georgia Tech on a football scholarship. After personally experiencing the trauma of a fire that consumed his own home, Olin began his career as a firefighter with the City of Miami. His intelligence and passion for fire safety was immediately recognized and rewarded. He was promoted to the Fire Prevention Bureau to learn the fire codes, and later advanced to become a Deputy State Fire Marshal in South Florida. Then, in 1973, he was appointed as the first Director of the Division of State Fire Marshal in Tallahassee.

In 1983, Olin moved to Oregon where he also served as State Fire Marshal for six years, and in 1989 the White House called. President George H.W. Bush asked Olin to serve as his US Fire Administrator. He was unanimously confirmed by the United States Senate in 1990 -- a rare occurrence in today's political climate -- becoming the first state fire marshal ever to hold our nation's highest fire safety position. He served our country with distinction and a steady hand, helping to guide it through several natural disasters and spearheading the passage of landmark fire safety legislation through Congress. When President Bush left office, Olin stepped down from USFA and joined the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). He spent 15 years there as a regional manager with responsibility for 26 states.

In 2008, the National Association of Fire Marshals (NASFM) established the ‘Olin Greene Outstanding Fire Prevention Service Award’ and Olin was honored as its first recipient. Olin Greene, former U.S. Fire Administrator, a former State Fire Marshal and one of NASFM’s founders. The Olin Greene Award given to those who have dedicated their career to fire prevention and public safety, and have achieved substantial accomplishments. As a note, Olin was also the first state fire marshal to serve in two states - Florida and Oregon. 

In retirement, Olin was an avid and remarkably skilled marksman, even after he became legally blind. He also was a master gardener, readily sharing the fruits of his labors with friends and neighbors. Olin and his wife of 26 years, Lourdes, enjoyed traveling, skiing, tending to their beautiful yard and cherished their numerous cats. He treasured his family, friends and professional colleagues, treating everyone he met with kindness, respect and dignity. We are all the better for the privilege of having known and loved him.

About the Norman Y. Mineta Excellence in Transportation Safety Award

The Norman Y. Mineta Excellence in Transportation Safety Award was established by NASFM in 2005 and is given annually to an individual or team that has made a significant and lasting contribution to the safety of people, products and materials in transit.  The first recipient of this award was Norman Y. Mineta, the 14th U.S. Secretary of Transportation, who served from 2001-2006. We are especially interested in recognizing the achievements of individuals and teams that have encouraged transportation safety standards above what is required, and have worked to ensure the safety of emergency responders.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software